Case Study · New Hampshire · RV Park and Campground · USDA B&I
RV Park Feasibility Study in Ossipee, New Hampshire: Expanding a Seasonal Campground on a USDA B&I Loan
Representative worked example. The site, sponsor and project are hypothetical. The market evidence is real, public and dated October 2026. This page shows how the market analysis is built and how it sets the loan. It is not a client engagement.
The question in Ossipee is not whether people want seasonal campsites in Carroll County. They plainly do. The question is how much a wooded, inland park without lake frontage can charge for one, how much new supply is already entitled nearby, and how much USDA-guaranteed debt that rate can carry once a buyer pays for the existing park and builds 32 more pads.
At a glance
| Item | Finding |
|---|---|
| Subject | Existing 48-site seasonal campground on about 50 acres in Ossipee, Carroll County, NH, expanded to 80 full hook-up sites |
| Season | Mid-May to mid-October, about 150 nights |
| Program | USDA Business and Industry guaranteed loan, 85% guarantee below $5 million (FY2026 published terms) |
| Market seasonal rate band | $2,400 to $4,500 at independents; $6,390 to $7,060 at the lakefront REIT resort |
| Rate the study underwrites | $4,200 per season plus metered electric; $56 per night for transient full hook-up sites |
| Stabilized revenue | $364,640 |
| Stabilized net operating income | $140,876 |
| B&I loan the market supports | $1,175,000, 1.27x stabilized debt service coverage |
| Total project cost | $2,493,562 |
| Sponsor equity | $1,318,562 (52.9% of cost) |
| Market conclusion | Demand supports 32 more seasonal pads at mid-market rates. The capital structure, not demand, sets the limit. |
The market conclusion
Carroll County behaves like a second-home market, and seasonal campsites are its cheaper substitute for a lake house. Independent parks in the 30-mile ring post seasonal rates between $2,400 and roughly $4,500. The one institutional lakefront resort charges $6,390 to $7,060. An inland, full hook-up park belongs in the upper middle of the independent band, not near the REIT. At $4,200 per season the 32 new pads earn about 10.6% gross on their all-in cost of $39,644 each, so the expansion pays for itself. What the market cannot carry is a purchase price set by listing-level expectations. The study prices the existing park on its income, sizes the B&I loan to coverage, and asks the sponsor for just over half the cost in equity.
Demand: a seasonal-housing county with a deep leisure base
| Indicator | Figure | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carroll County population | 51,804 | ACS 2024 5-year | [2] |
| Households | 21,847 | ACS 2024 5-year | [2] |
| Median household income | $86,463 (New Hampshire: $99,031) | ACS 2024 5-year | [2] |
| Median age | 54.6 | ACS 2024 5-year | [2] |
| Housing units | 40,421 | ACS 2024 5-year | [2] |
| Seasonal, recreational or occasional units | 16,324, or 41% of the county's housing stock, the highest share in New Hampshire | Reported July 2017 | [3] |
| New Hampshire summer visitors | Just under 4.6 million, spending slightly below $2.6 billion | Summer 2025 forecast | [4] |
| North American camping households | 52.2 million (58.5 million peak in 2022; 24.3% above 2019) | 2025 | [5] |
| Campers planning more nights | 31% | 2026 intent | [5] |
| NH 16 traffic at Mount Shaw Road, Ossipee | 9,787 AADT (2014); about 13,000 in more recent counts | NHDOT safety audit | [6] |
Two signals matter for a seasonal park. First, the county's housing stock is 41% seasonal and its median resident is 54.6 years old. That is the profile of an older, asset-holding market where a seasonal pad competes with a second home, and where campers return year after year. Second, the national camping base is stable but the flow of new rigs is not. RVIA counted 23,599 wholesale shipments in August 2026, down 16.4% and the lowest August since 2015. Year-to-date shipments of 207,191 were down 14.2%, with towables down 16.2% [7]. Seasonal campers are an installed base of existing rigs, which cushions a seasonal park, but fewer new owners will be shopping for a first seasonal site. One product signal runs the other way: park model RV shipments rose 21.8% year to date, so some of the new pads should be sized and permitted for park models.
Competitive supply within 30 miles
| Campground (town) | Sites | 2026 rates | Season | Positioning |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Retreats Westward Shores (West Ossipee) | 258 three-way sites | Seasonal $6,390 Premium, $7,060 Preferred Premium | May 15 to Oct 18 | REIT-owned lakefront resort, beaches and marina [1] |
| Danforth Bay Camping and RV Resort (Freedom) | About 295 to 305 | From $145 per night | Year-round | Lake frontage, saltwater pool, cable and Wi-Fi [8] |
| Terrace Pines Campground (Center Ossipee) | 185 to 190 | About $64 per night | May to Oct | Multi-park operator; a review describes it as about 95% seasonal [9] |
| Chocorua Camping Village KOA (Tamworth) | 150 wooded sites | Not published | May 1 to Oct 15 | Franchise, pool and pond beach, seasonal community offered [10] |
| Bearcamp River Campground (West Ossipee) | Water and electric sites | $48 to $52 nightly; $2,400 seasonal | Memorial Day to Columbus Day | Independent, riverfront [11] |
| Beaver Hollow Campground (Ossipee) | Not published | $900 spring or fall mini-season plus electric | Mid-May to Columbus weekend | Independent, saltwater pool [12] |
| Wolfeboro Campground (Wolfeboro) | About 50 | $45 per night, full hook-up | May 15 to Oct 15 | Independent, wooded, seasonal sites offered [13] |
| White Lake State Park (Tamworth) | 192, no hook-ups | State rates | Through Oct 12 | 14-day maximum, no seasonal product [14] |
| Ellacoya State Park (Gilford) | 37 full hook-up | State rates | Through Oct 24 | Reservation only, 14-day cumulative cap [15] |
The ring splits into two tiers. Institutional operators hold the lakefront and price seasonal sites above $6,000. Small independents hold wooded inland land and price between $2,400 and the mid-$4,000s. State parks offer no seasonal product at all. The gap the subject can fill is a well-run, mid-priced, full hook-up inland park with amenities between Bearcamp's basic product and the lakefront resort. A pro forma that borrows lakefront pricing would overstate revenue by about half.
What seasonal campers pay across New Hampshire and southern Maine
| Park (location) | Posted seasonal rate | Year | Included | Waitlist evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sanborn Shore Acres (Big Island Pond, NH) | $4,500 | 2025 | Water, sewer, cable; electric metered | "Full for the 2025 season," waitlist [16] |
| Tippicanoe Campground (Goshen, NH) | From $3,000; extended season +$500 | Current | Winter storage on site | Unpaid sites go to the waiting list [17] |
| Wassamki Springs (Scarborough, ME) | From $5,500 | 2026 | 30-amp, Wi-Fi, entertainment | Not stated [18] |
| Jellystone Park Androscoggin Lake (ME) | $4,700 standard to $6,200 lakefront | 2026 | Winter storage $250 | Not stated [19] |
| Lone Mountain Riverfront (western ME) | $3,600 to $4,000 plus lodging tax | Current | Water, sewer, Wi-Fi; electric metered | Not stated [20] |
| Forest Ridge (Ellsworth, ME) | $4,500 | 2026 | Water, sewer; electric metered | Not stated [21] |
Metered electricity is the regional norm, and none of these parks bundles unlimited power into the seasonal fee. The subject should meter every site. Water, sewer and Wi-Fi are typically included, and on-site winter storage is a common retention tool. On this evidence, $4,200 for a full hook-up 30/50-amp inland pad sits inside the independent cluster, about $300 below its top.
Pipeline: one entitlement decides the supply risk
In September 2016 the Ossipee Planning Board conditionally approved adding 246 RV sites to Westward Shores' 258, subject to state water supply, subdivision and septic approvals. The Town of Freedom contested the approval through the Zoning Board of Adjustment and Carroll County Superior Court in 2017 [22]. Whether those sites were built, lapsed or remain vested is not in the public record found. If that capacity were delivered, it would add more pads to the submarket than the subject's entire 80-site footprint, several times over.
Other board activity from 2024 to 2026 shows conversions, not new parks. In Freedom, a cooperative conversion of a 77-unit lakeside campground sought permission for additional structures, and the application was withdrawn in May 2025 after the board denied a continuance [23]. The Ossipee Planning Board minutes reviewed for August 2025 show no campground applications [24].
What the market supports: the revenue build
Unsold seasonal pads run as transient sites until the seasonal roster fills, so transient revenue is highest in year 1 and falls as seasonal contracts replace it.
| Line | Year 1 | Year 2 | Stabilized | Downside |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seasonal sites under contract | 46 | 54 | 60 | 60 |
| Seasonal rate | $4,200 | $4,200 | $4,200 | $3,000 |
| Seasonal revenue | $193,200 | $226,800 | $252,000 | $180,000 |
| Transient sites | 34 | 26 | 20 | 20 |
| Transient occupancy over 150 nights at $56 | 40% | 45% | 48% | 42% |
| Transient revenue | $114,240 | $98,280 | $80,640 | $70,560 |
| Winter storage, store, firewood, propane, guest fees | $32,000 | $32,000 | $32,000 | $32,000 |
| Total revenue | $339,440 | $357,080 | $364,640 | $282,560 |
| Operating expenses | $222,504 | $223,386 | $223,764 | $219,660 |
| Net operating income | $116,936 | $133,694 | $140,876 | $62,900 |
The downside row prices every seasonal site at $3,000, the floor of the independent cluster, and trims transient occupancy six points. Operating expenses are built at arm's length, as a B&I lender will underwrite them: on-site managers and seasonal staff at $67,850 with burden, a 5% management charge, property tax of $27,189 on about $1.9 million of assessed value at Ossipee's 2025 rate including the fire precinct ($14.31 per $1,000) [25], insurance $19,000, septic and water testing $9,000, a $75-per-site replacement reserve, and the USDA annual retention fee of 0.55% on the guaranteed balance. Groundskeeping and housekeeping wages in the Northern New Hampshire nonmetropolitan area ran at medians of $18.35 and $16.46 an hour in May 2023 [26], so the payroll line is trended above those figures.
What the debt can carry
| Measure | Year 1 | Year 2 | Stabilized | Downside |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net operating income | $116,936 | $133,694 | $140,876 | $62,900 |
| Debt service: $1,175,000 B&I loan, 8.25%, 25 years | $111,171 | $111,171 | $111,171 | $111,171 |
| Debt service coverage | 1.05x | 1.20x | 1.27x | 0.57x |
At 1.25x the stabilized income supports about $1,191,000 of debt; at 1.15x, about $1,295,000. The study sizes the loan at $1,175,000.
| Project cost | Amount |
|---|---|
| Acquisition of the existing 48-site park, priced on income | $1,100,000 |
| 32 new full hook-up sites (water, 30/50-amp electric, sewer collection, gravel pads) at $28,000 | $896,000 |
| Engineered septic and leach-field capacity for the expansion | $180,000 |
| Engineering, NHDES subdivision and subsurface approvals, local site plan | $85,000 |
| Contingency, 10% of new construction | $107,600 |
| Feasibility study, appraisal, legal, title and closing | $55,000 |
| Working capital | $40,000 |
| USDA guarantee fee, 3% of the guaranteed 85% | $29,962 |
| Total | $2,493,562 |
| B&I guaranteed loan | $1,175,000 (47.1%) |
| Sponsor equity | $1,318,562 (52.9%) |
The acquisition line works out to about $22,900 per existing site. That is close to the one recent regional closed sale with a public price, a 261-site southern Maine campground that sold for $6,000,000 in August 2026, about $22,989 per site [27]. Survey cap rates put Class A and B RV parks near 8.0% and Class C parks near 9.0% [28]. A small, seasonal-only rural park sits at or above the Class C figure. A seller asking $45,000 or more per site is pricing land, a residence and expansion potential that B&I collateral rules either exclude or discount.
Conditions a lender should set before closing
- NHDES subdivision and subsurface approvals for all 80 sites. Under Env-Wq 1005.11, every site with a pressurized water hook-up used by the same RV for more than three consecutive weeks needs on-site sewage collection, so septic capacity is the critical path [29]. Local site plan approval as well.
- A title and land-use search on the 2016 Westward Shores approval, to establish whether the 246-site entitlement is built, vested or lapsed.
- The seller's three-season seasonal rent roll, renewal history and any written waitlist. Without them, waitlist claims are anecdotal.
- A licensed 1-, 2- and 3-hour drive-time demographic pull covering the Boston and Portland markets, and current NHDOT station counts for NH 16, NH 25 and NH 28.
- A dated USDA Eligibility Map result for the parcel. Ossipee's population is about 4,372 (2020 Census), far below the 50,000 threshold in 7 CFR 5001.3 [30].
- Electric meters on every site, and some of the 32 new pads designed and permitted for park models.
Questions sponsors ask about this market
How much does a seasonal campsite cost in the Ossipee area?
Posted 2026 rates run from $2,400 at a basic riverfront independent to $6,390 to $7,060 at the lakefront REIT resort. Independent parks across New Hampshire and southern Maine cluster between $3,000 and $5,500, usually with electricity metered separately.
Does a USDA B&I loan finance an RV park acquisition and expansion?
Yes. 7 CFR 5001.105(b)(8) lists resort trailer parks and campgrounds operated as a commercial enterprise as eligible. A newly formed buyer is usually underwritten as a new business, and an independent feasibility study is required for guaranteed loans above $1,000,000 to a new business.
What is the largest risk in this submarket?
Supply. One conditionally approved expansion at a neighboring resort could add 246 pads if it is still live. The second risk is permitting: septic approvals for every new pressurized site.
Why not underwrite to the lakefront resort's pricing?
Because the subject has no lake frontage. Lakefront and resort amenities are what move a New Hampshire seasonal site above $6,000.
Planning an RV park or campground in New Hampshire?
Start with the market: the rate band your site can actually hold, the entitlements already in the pipeline, and the debt that rate will carry.
Request a methodology briefingData sources and dates
- Sun Outdoors, Sun Retreats Westward Shores rates and season, accessed October 2026. https://www.sunoutdoors.com/new-hampshire/sun-retreats-westward-shores
- Census Reporter, Carroll County, NH profile (ACS 2024 5-year). http://censusreporter.org/profiles/05000US33003-carroll-county-nh/
- NH Business Review, "The economic impact of second homes in New Hampshire," July 20, 2017. https://www.nhbr.com/the-economic-impact-of-second-homes-in-new-hampshire/
- NH Division of Travel and Tourism Development, summer forecast press release, May 22, 2025. https://www.visitnh.gov/getmedia/f0830ed7-0e34-4f91-b6da-f5c3be2b8697/SummmerForecastWRLaunch-PR-FINAL.pdf
- KOA, 2026 Camping and Outdoor Hospitality Report, April 14, 2026. https://www.koapressroom.com/press/2026-camping-hospitality-report/
- NHDOT, Road Safety Audit, NH 16 and Mount Shaw Road, Ossipee. https://www.dot.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt811/files/inline-documents/final-road-safety-audit-report-ossipeemountshaw.pdf
- RV Industry Association, "RV Shipments 23,600 in August," September 2026. https://www.rvia.org/reports-trends/rv-shipment-reports/2026-08/rv-shipments-23600-august
- Danforth Bay Camping and RV Resort, 2026 offers; NH Campground Owners Association listing. https://www.danforthbay.com/offers/
- Modern America Campgrounds, Terrace Pines Campground. https://modernamericacampgrounds.com/new-hampshire/terrace-pines-campground
- Chocorua Camping Village KOA. https://chocoruacamping.com/
- RoverPass, Bearcamp River Campground, updated August 7, 2026. https://www.roverpass.com/c/bearcamp-river-campground-west-ossipee-nh/
- Beaver Hollow Campground, 2026. https://www.beaverhollowcampground.com/
- Wolfeboro Campground, rates effective January 1, 2026. https://wolfeborocampground.com/
- NH Division of Parks and Recreation, White Lake State Park campground details. https://newhampshirestateparks.reserveamerica.com/camping/white-lake-state-park/r/campgroundDetails.do?contractCode=NH&parkId=270097
- NH State Parks, Ellacoya State Park. https://www.nhstateparks.org/find-parks-trails/ellacoya-state-park
- Sanborn Shore Acres Campground, 2025 seasonal rate. https://sanbornshoreacres.com/
- Tippicanoe Campground, rates and reservations. https://www.tippicanoe.com/rates-and-reservations
- Wassamki Springs, seasonal sites, 2026. https://wassamkisprings.com/seasonal-sites/
- Jellystone Park Androscoggin Lake, seasonal camping, 2026. https://jellystoneparkandroscoggin.com/seasonal-camping
- Lone Mountain Riverfront Campground, seasonal campsites. https://lonemountaincamping.com/seasonal-campsites
- Forest Ridge Campground, 2026 rates. https://forestridgecampground.com/rates/
- Ossipee Lake Alliance, Westward Shores expansion coverage, September 2016 and May to June 2017. https://www.ossipeelake.org/2016/09/ossipee-grants-conditional-approval-of-westward-shores-expansion/
- Ossipee Lake Alliance, "Freedom Board Denies Continuance for Wabanaki Expansions," May 2025. https://www.ossipeelake.org/2025/05/freedom-board-denies-continuance-for-wabanaki-expansions/
- Town of Ossipee, Planning Board minutes, August 5, 2025. https://www.ossipee.org/planning-board/minutes/minutes-amennded-1
- Town of Ossipee, Tax Collector, 2025 tax rates. https://www.ossipee.org/tax-collector/pages/tax-rates
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2023, Northern New Hampshire nonmetropolitan area. https://www.bls.gov/oes/2023/may/oes_3300001.htm
- Portland Press Herald, "Scarborough campground sold to out-of-state buyer," September 18, 2026. https://www.pressherald.com/2026/09/18/scarborough-campground-sold-to-out-of-state-buyer/
- BVWire, "Valuing an RV park? Check out these metrics," March 11, 2026 (Newmark 2026 survey). https://www.bvresources.com/articles/bvwire/valuing-an-rv-park-check-out-these-metrics
- NH Code of Administrative Rules, Env-Wq 1000 (copy hosted by the Town of Salem). https://www.salemnh.gov/DocumentCenter/View/877/New-Hampshire-Department-of-Environmental-Services-State-Regulations-PDF
- eCFR, 7 CFR 5001.3 Definitions, current as of October 8, 2026. https://ecfr.gov/current/title-7/part-5001/section-5001.3